For some inspiration

13 Jan

As you can probably tell, I’m a huge fan of fusion cuisine. The blending of flavors and pairing of various cooking techniques bring excitement to familiar dishes and adventure to our culinary adventures.

But recently I’ve found myself stuck in a rut. Part of it is the kitchen (I’ve found that the layout and state of the kitchen greatly influences my desire to cook) and the other part of it is my busy schedule. With so little time to cook, I don’t have time to both cook food that I can easily pack for lunch everyday and experiment with new dishes. (I tried to at the beginning of the year but found that I usually ended up with enough time for one experimental dish which I was stuck eating regardless of the results.)

It’s time to change things. And for once, I know where to begin. I stumbled across this article, which features a new modern, cross-continental preparation of soba noodles. From experience, I’ve found that nearly such dishes are never as fulfilling as the traditional zarusoba which is, in my humble opinion, a nearly perfect preparation for these noodles. But this recipe, may change that for me. I’m excited to see how the cumin and pine nuts interact with the texture of the soba noodles and the arctic char (although, to be quite honest, I will probably end up using salmon).

Once I try it out, I’ll be sure to post the results here so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

