I don’t blog surf enough

23 Nov

flickr/stu_spivack

I realized today that I really don’t blog surf as much as I used to. When I started following food blogs I would visit about 20-40 sites daily–a bit extreme, I know, but it brought a lot of joy (and much needed) inspiration into my life. Now, with undergrad drawing to a close I’ve realized that now I only visit about 5 sites every few day– if I’m lucky.

I think it’s about time I start up the old routine again: blog surf one day, cook the next day. Yes, believe it or not, that’s how it used to be. I would cook new dishes I found online almost every other day. It didn’t really help me deal with my ring of love (think love handles but more…like a donut), but it definitely kept me sane.

So here we go. First up on the list: pierogies.

Last month, Momofukufor2 featured a post on these delicious European dumplings (check it out here) and now I can’t stop thinking about pierogies.

The first time I encountered these European dumplings was two years ago. It was love at first bite. My pierogies contained a cheese, potato, and bacon filling and were pan-fried in browned butter, (more) bacon, and green onions. Delicious, right? But I’m definitely interested in trying out Momofukufor2’s version that uses a green onion oil and mashed potato mixture for the filling. If I have time to, maybe I’ll also try putting some shredded rafute in the mix as well for a bit of Okinawan fusion.

But first I need to go grocery shopping (something I haven’t done for the last two weeks). So the picture commentary on the results will have to wait until later. Check back in about two days–they should be up by then! But if you have some time to make those pierogies NOW, don’t let me stop you. Here, you can even have the recipe:

Pierogi Recipe adapted from Gourmet Magazine April 2004 as found on epicurious.com

yield: 48-50 pierogi

For dough
3 cups all-purpose flour plus additional for kneading
1 cup water
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon salt

For potato filling
1 1/2 pound russet potatoes
6 ounces coarsely grated Cheddar or 4 tablespoons green onion oil*
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Special equipment: a 2 1/2-inch round cookie cutter

Make dough:
Put flour in a large shallow bowl and make a well in centre. Add water, egg, oil, and salt to well and carefully beat together with a fork without incorporating flour. Continue stirring with a wooden spoon, gradually incorporating flour, until a soft dough forms. Transfer dough to a lightly floured surface and knead, dusting with flour as needed to keep dough from sticking, until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes (dough will be very soft). Invert a bowl over dough and let stand at room temperature 1 hour.

Make filling while dough stands:
Peel potatoes and cut into 1-inch pieces. Cook potatoes in a large saucepan of boiling salted water until tender, about 8 minutes. Drain potatoes, then equally divide in two bowls. In one bowl add the cheese, salt, and pepper, in the other bowl, add the green onion oil. Mash the potatoes until smooth and mix thoroughly.
When mashed potatoes are cool enough to handle, use a small cookie scoop to scoop out the filling. Cover and keep the filling in the fridge until you are ready to fill your pierogi.

Form and cook pierogi:
Halve dough and roll out 1 half (keep remaining half under inverted bowl) on lightly floured surface with a lightly floured rolling pin into a 15-inch round (1/8 inch thick), then cut out 24 rounds with lightly floured cutter. Holding 1 round in palm of your hand, put 1 potato ball in centre of round and close your hand to fold round in half, enclosing filling. Pinch edges together to seal completely.

Bring a 6- to 8-quart pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pierogi, stirring once or twice to keep them from sticking together, and cook 5 minutes from time pierogi float to surface. Drain and pan fry in butter or oil over medium heat until crisp.

 

 

