Thoughts on fusion cuisine

28 Oct

Rain Rannu/flickr

Have you heard of Macanese cuisine? Neither have I, until today. Born and raised in Hawaii, I would consider myself well-versed in the realm of fusion cuisine–after all, it’s basically what I grew up on–but I had never heard of Macau’s unique fusion dishes.

Perhaps it is because Macanese food is hard to come by in the U.S. (as mentioned by the author) but if it is as delectable as described, then shouldn’t at least whispers of it’s magnificence be heard? I mean, any food experience described similar to the following would leave you salivating like one of Pavlov’s dogs:

It arrived looking like a hot mess on the plate, the bird having been marinated in chiles, onions, and garlic, smothered in a spicy, lemony coconut milk-and-butter-based sauce, and cooked to crisp perfection. It was hearty and heavy, yet complex, balancing savory and sweet with a hint of sour and just enough heat that I found myself working away at it with the slightest urgency. The dish is filling the way Brick Lane-style curry is filling, and puts you in the sort of breathless food coma often associated with Thanksgiving.

I hope that another Macanese restaurant will open in L.A. sometime soon (the last one, Macau Street Restaurant, also closed recently) so I can try this African Chicken and more. In the meantime, I’ll keep looking for opportunities to learn more about this unique cuisine.

-Chumbawumba (my new nickname…yayy)

P.S. For those of you who are familiar with Macau cuisine, do you think it shares any similarities with other fusion cuisines? Not necessarily the trendy fusion cuisine we’re used to seeing today, but the fusion cuisine that emerged from the close interaction between different cultures (similar to Hawaii and the plantation experience).

Leave a Reply

